The Nightmares!

Let me start off by saying, I LOVE my job.  I LOVE my students.  And yet, eight years into the field of education, I still have the night-before-school nightmares!  Whether it’s truly the weeks leading up to the start of a new school year, or at the end of a vacation week, or just a long weekend, I start having the craziest dreams: I didn’t label the desks.  Nobody will tell me my students’ names.  I’m three hours late for the first day, and my students are alone in the classroom.  A car drove through the classroom.  A train ran through the classroom.  I can’t find my classroom.  I forgot to plan for the first day. And the list goes on!

A few weeks ago, during Morning Meeting, a student announced that she had a dream about our classroom, and other students chimed in to share that they had also dreamt about our class.  I told the students that I frequently had dreams about the classroom, too, and one student said, “That’s because you’re thinking about us a lot.”  She’s right!

So now it’s the last night of April vacation, and I’ve been having these dreams for two days now.  Do they ever go away?  Teachers, am I the only one who has crazy classroom dreams?  Tell me I’m not alone!

1233157_813203197215_418305662_o

See? It’s fine!  Everything is labeled, I have enough desks, I didn’t forget to plan!

About Teacher Cait

Massachusetts educator, learner, committed to finding joy every day. @CaitAhern
Image | This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

